Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

OS Most like Chalet

2 posters

Go down

OS Most like Chalet Empty OS Most like Chalet

Post by JeffK969 Wed Aug 15, 2018 5:57 am

Hello All,
Since I'm a relative newbie (<1 yr on Linux), was wondering if any of you had opinions on this.

What Linux OS is most like Chalet..?

I've been doing some searches and visually, I see OpenMandriva and Mageia has some similarities,
but I'm looking more at the performance level.

I ask for I can only try so many, but thought maybe some more experienced users could help guide
me along the way..

Any Thoughts...?
JeffK969
JeffK969

Back to top Go down

OS Most like Chalet Empty Re: OS Most like Chalet

Post by Dits Fri Aug 31, 2018 10:18 am

Hey JeffK...i think what sets ChaletOS apart from most Distros is the style changer. I don't understand why other distros don't install that option as well.
As far as other distros similar to ChaletOS , most XFCE distros are close, apart from the style changer.

Myself, i have moved on to Mint (Cinnamon), and there are lots of themes available.
Good luck finding something that suits you.

Cheers.
Dits
Dits

http://chaletos.info

Back to top Go down

Post by JeffK969 Fri Aug 31, 2018 11:15 pm

Thanks Dits.   I have Mint 19 XFCE on my machine, used it to replace Chalet (which ran so much better than Windows 10 did on my Dell).  Also have Cinnamon on an old Gateway that replaced Vista. I really do like them both, but, it's hard to explain.  Maybe it's in my mind, but I truly believe Chalet ran smoother, functioned better, and obviously looked better..lol.  The little video down loader was awesome too.  Chalet to me, was the best I've used.  As far as my PC experience, Chalet and XP were the best 2 OS's ever.  Mint is very close, very.