Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

First Post and Thanks for Chalet 16.04!

2 posters

:: Forum :: Your Story

Go down

First Post and Thanks for Chalet 16.04! Empty First Post and Thanks for Chalet 16.04!

Post by asciiman Tue Jul 12, 2016 5:27 am

Hello-

Just wanted to say thanks for the very nice ChaletOS 16.04.
It is a nice integration of great looks and features and hopefully will inspire many people to see how friendly Linux can be!

I found the distro on DistroWatch where I tend to hang around.
I am fairly new to gnu Linux, just about 4 years now.
The ChaletOS 16.04 install worked very nicely on an MBR install.
Haven't tried UEFI yet.

One thing I have noticed that seems to be perplexing is that the update manager/notifier in ChaletOS seems to be fussy.  I have the Ubuntu "Software & Updates" init set up this way:

Check Updates:       Daily
Security Updates:    Download and install automatically
Other Updates:        Display immediately

Do these setting present a conflict with the ChaletOS Update/Notifier??

I have observed that there seems to be an issue with the updater not finding the Wine i386 repo or a missing dependency.  I used Synaptec and completely removed "Wine Staging" as I don't use Windows programs anyway.  I will continue to observe the ChaletOS update notifier to see if removing Wine Staging took care of the error.

If anyone has covered this, please let me know.  I did a search here at the forum and did not see much detail on the topic.

Anyway, thanks once again for the very slick distro!

Best,
Allen
asciiman
asciiman

Back to top Go down

First Post and Thanks for Chalet 16.04! Empty Re: First Post and Thanks for Chalet 16.04!

Post by James Tobin Tue Jul 12, 2016 9:51 am

I am glad you are enjoying Chalet OS! hope it works well for you

asciiman wrote:
The ChaletOS 16.04 install worked very nicely on an MBR install.
Haven't tried UEFI yet.