Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Root Access via the GUI?

2 posters

Go down

Root Access via the GUI? Empty Root Access via the GUI?

Post by WinfugeeLa Wed May 25, 2016 5:27 pm

Hi, I'm new to Linux trying to acclimate myself to ChaletOS in VirtualBox before I actually make the leap and ditch Microshaft altogether. The only thing that's been holding me back all of these years it the fact that most distro's look pretty awful. I'm thrilled with ChaletOS's design as it's very familiar and makes the prospect of switching to Linux a little bit less intimidating.

Question: Long story short, I had to lookup and enter a terminal command for ChaletOS to enable the LED backlight on my keyboard. After some research I was able to create a bash script so that this could be done by executing a file. I wanted to   put that file in ChaletOS' equivalent of a startup folder. When I navigated to the folder where I was to place the script, I find out that I do not have root access.

So I was wondering if there is a temporary way where I can enable and then later disable root access via the GUI. Using terminal commands for something like this is not very optimal for me. I really don't know how often I'd need to access these protected areas, but if I needed to it would be nice to be able to do so by navigating the GUI.
WinfugeeLa
WinfugeeLa

Back to top Go down

Root Access via the GUI? Empty Re: Root Access via the GUI?

Post by James Tobin Thu May 26, 2016 2:54 am