Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Switch to Auto-Login

3 posters

Go down

Switch to Auto-Login Empty Switch to Auto-Login

Post by PastorBirt Fri Dec 11, 2015 9:44 am

I installed ChaletOS today. I meant to set it up for auto-login and failed to do so. How can I switch to auto-login so that it bypasses the Login Screen? I've gone into Users Settings and changed the password option to "Not asked on login". While it does not require the password to login, it still goes to the login screen rather than going directly to the desktop.

A word of explanation: I am a teacher. This is not my primary computer that I use on a day to day basis. This is an old PC that keep around for some of my students to use. So when I give it to a student, I don't want it to stop at the login screen. There will be no important or sensitive information on this laptop.
PastorBirt
PastorBirt

Back to top Go down

Switch to Auto-Login Empty Re: Switch to Auto-Login

Post by Dits Fri Dec 11, 2015 10:23 am

Hi PastorBirt... have you tried the Session and Start up option? It's in Settings Manager / Session and Startup.

Un-tick the box 'Display chooser on log in' pictured below

Hope it helps.

Switch to Auto-Login Screen13
Dits
Dits

http://chaletos.info

Back to top Go down

Post by PastorBirt Sun Dec 13, 2015 1:23 am

Thanks for the assist. I already had the option to display the chooser on login un-ticked. It still shows the login screen in the boot sequence.
PastorBirt
PastorBirt

Back to top Go down

Post by BroDan Sun Dec 13, 2015 4:02 am

This is the only way that I know how to do what you're wanting...see if this works for you.

1. Open the Terminal, and enter (or copy and paste) the following command...

sudo mousepad /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf

2. Enter your password.

That will open the LightDM configuration file which controls the log in screen.